Vipertime: Selections

By April 10, 2019

Music. Leeds.

The video for Vipertime’s new single, Augury, had its debut on The State of the Arts in March, ahead of the release of their new album, Shakedown, on vinyl and digitally on 28th May 2019.

Vipertime are Ben Powling, Matías Reed, Charlie Grimwood and Luke Reddin-Williams, all players from Roller Trio, Mansion of Snakes, WorldService Project, KOG & The Zongo Brigade and Wandering Monster.

They came together in early 2018 to free up the house parties in their native Leeds, in the midst of a criss-crossing flux of musicians and artists, and we asked Ben and Matías to pick some of the tracks surrounding and inspiring them at the moment. 

Ikestra – Sprinter

We used to go and watch this band a lot when we first moved to Leeds. Gone but fondly remembered.

The Sorcerers – The Viking Of 5th Avenue

This track is based in the same ethio-jazz sound that has massively influenced us. Hard to believe it was recorded at ATA studios in Headingley and not in Addis Ababa.

Matthew Bourne – Nils

In 2016, jazz pianist Matthew Bourne wrote an album of music for a converted Moog synthesiser called Moogmemory. This track has such a brooding atmosphere.

Tony Burkill – Work, Money Death

Tony is a bit of an undiscovered jazz hero who should really be a national name. This track from his album of the same name has a really heavy spiritual jazz vibe, drawing from Billy Harper, Pharoah Sanders, Joe McPhee and all that good stuff.

J Frisco – Drowning For Now

Industrial electronics and plaintive soprano sax from a new band taking the scene by storm.

Magnificent Tape Band – Black Tiger (feat. Rachel Modest)

Another ATA release with impassioned vocals and enormous horn arrangements make this a personal favourite.

Shatner’s Bassoon – Breakfast With Boghead

An old favourite from a band still setting the bar for musical insanity.

Ancient Infinity Orchestra – Siluvaipuram

Ancient Infinity Orchestra channel the spirit of Sun Ra, Art Ensemble of Chicago right from the heart of Meanwood. This track was released on a compilation LP of Leeds called To Be Here Now,put together by Ben from Vipertime and Jack Simpson from Hyde Park Book Club.

Jasmine – Interlude

A track from Jasmine’s new nine-track EP Bring To Light. We love it. One to watch. You can read an interview with Jasmine on TSOTA here.

Follow Vipertime on Facebook / Instagram / Bandcamp / SoundCloud / Twitter

This is the video for their newest single Augury, made by by Olivia Sofia Ferrara.